Passport & Bikini Required: Surprise Honeymoon

29 Mar

I’m going to go ahead and say it: our honeymoon was the most blissful, magical, rad-tastic 2 weeks of our lives. And guess what? I boarded the plane 2 days after our wedding and had no idea where we were going. Passport & bathing suit required; everything else was a mystery. Once through security, Mr.Riggar handed me a boarding pass going to Tokyo. Oh hey Asia…never been to you before! 2 hours into a 10-hour plane ride, I opened a wrapped package with two books: Thailand & Bangkok. Finally!! Our parents knew, my brother-in-law knew & our favorite Starbucks barista knew. Months & months of anticipation and I had to contain my excitement on a plane carrying over 200 passengers, which is near impossible for the chick whose “voice carries.”

surprise honeymoon

Surprise Honeymoon

I saw a few photos of our resort online, but none of which compared to its beauty when we arrived to the open-air, 48-bungalow, private beach oasis. See photo below: can.not.contain.excitement. The resort staff greeted us with fresh coconut milk & lei’s, and then took us on a walking tour of the grounds while our luggage was transported to our bungalow. Hello world of luxury, you’ve scarred my backpack traveling habits for life. And I like it.

Surprise Honeymoon Surprise HoneymoonSurprise Honeymoon

Not only did Mr. Riggar thoroughly enjoy planning & then surprising me with our honeymoon agenda, but I also enjoyed taking the back seat on this one. I knew he was going to plan the most spectacular vacation of our lives to date & I simply enjoyed the ride. Really, really enjoyed the ride. The best way to describe this is so simple: it was all-around fun! Heyyo…fun! What a concept. I was giddy like a newlywed wanderlust fanatic for 2 weeks solid. Well done, Mr.Riggar, well done.

Surprise Honeymoon

Favorite picture from the trip.

Carpe Diem,

Mandy

2 Responses to “Passport & Bikini Required: Surprise Honeymoon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wanderlust Wednesday: Bangkok, Thailand « Ciao Darling - June 20, 2012

    [...] our way to Koh Samui for our honeymoon, we stopped in Bangkok for a few days. I am so glad we did, because even just a few days in this [...]

  2. Goodbye July, Hello August « Ciao Darling - August 1, 2012

    [...] trip to Puerta Vallarta. Mr. Riggar actually surprised me by choosing & booking the resort (he’s so good at it now), after we briefly discussed the thought. The countdown has [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

